| africa | america | asia | east asia | europe | oceania | south east asia |

| commemorative | hybrid | polymer | australia |

-:| a | b | c | d | e | f | g | h | i | j | k | l | m | n | o | p | q | r | s | t | u | v | w | x | y | z |:-
this site follows the time zone of Kirimati, the first to see the rising sun.

5367 banknotes collected as at 15.07.2018

Countries that have no national currency of its own

The following are countries that do not have or ceased using it's own national currency due to reasons one way or the other, such as hyperinflation, manufacturing costs (small population) or economy stability advantages etc. 

British pound (since 760)
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, British Antarctic Territory (?), Tristan da Cunha.

US dollar (since 1786)
Ecuador, East Timor, El Salvador, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Palau, Turks and Caicos, British Virgin Islands, Puerto Rica, Zimbabwe (2016 Bond Money).

Euro (since 1999)
Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Andorra, Kosovo, Monaco, Montenegro, San Marino, Vatican City, Martinique, Mayotte, Reunion, French Guyana, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon Islands, Saint-Barthélemy, Guadeloupe, Madeira and the Azores, Canary Islands

Swiss francs (since 1850)

Australia dollar (since 1966)
Kiribati, Nauru, Tuvalu, Christmas islands, Norfolk Islands, Cocos & Keeling Islands

New Zealand dollar (since 1966)
Niue, Pitcairn Islands, Tokelau Islands, Cook Islands

East Caribbean dollar (created 1976)
Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and the Nevis, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Chinese yuan (since BC)

Danish krone (since 1875)
Faroe Islands (also used there alone with own currency at par)

South African rand (since 1961)

West African franc (since 1945)
Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo

Central African franc (since 1945)
Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, and Gabon
Note: The Central and West African francs are interchangeable at par in all it's territories.

Note: this page is still under construction as more research is needed to get all the info up to date.

No comments: